AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Bare Escentuals Beyond Gorgeous Review

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on October 29, 2010

It’s finally sunny again in Chicago, so I can take some decent photos of all of the new kits and items that I have been hauling over the past few weeks.  One of the first Holiday 2010 kits I picked up was the Bare Escentuals / Bare Minerals Beyond Gorgeous gift set.  If you recall, I was quite taken with the bright pink brush handles and bright pink ribbon toppers.  Let me just tell you, this kit goes so far beyond the “playful touches” that first got my attention.

As a recap, the Bare Escentuals Beyon Gorgeous set includes an Original Mineral Veil (size: medium), a Satin Ruffle Eyecolor (nude satin) (size: small), a Frills Eyecolor (charcoal moss) (size: small), a Pink Ribbon Blush (sheer raspberry pink) (size: medium), a 100% Natural Lipgloss in Icing (sheer playful pink), a Big & Bright Eyeliner in Charbronze (antique brown), a Flawless Definition Volumizing Mascara in Black, an Eye Shaping Brush, and a Flawless Application Face Brush all housed in a keepsake box.

Let’s start with the eye colors.  You get 2 of them:  Satin Ruffle and Frills.  Satin Ruffle is described as a nude satin while Frills is described as a charcoal moss.  I think these descriptions fit perfectly.  And they go together perfectly.  A beautiful holiday smoky eye is easily achieved with these 2 shades.  Of course, they look great on their own too.  They are also versatile enough to fit with tons of other shades that you probably already have in your beauty arsenal.

Top:  100% Natural Lip Gloss in Icing and Big & Bright Eyeliner in Charbronze  Bottom: Mineral Veil, Pink Ribbon Blush, Satin Ruffle Eye Color, Frills Eye Color

In The Sunlight

The eye colors are listed as just that, eye colors.  They aren’t classified as a Glimmer or a Glimpse, but they do have  a nice shimmer to them.  They are not overly shimmery/glittery, but if you get caught in the right light you see a beautiful shimmer.  You can kind of see this in the swatch picture I posted that I took in the sun.

In BE Beyond Gorgeous, you receive a blush in Pink Ribbon, a sheer raspberry color.  The swatches of Pink Ribbon may look a little scary.  It comes off as a frosty pink.  That’s not really accurate.  In the swatch photos, I really laid the blush color on so that you can see it.  But, like most Bare Escentuals products, Pink Ribbon blush is a very buildable product.  If you put on a normal amount, it leaves your cheeks with a gorgeous glow.

The blush is similar to the eye color when it comes to the glitter/shimmer factor.  It is not overly shimmery/glittery, but in the right light there is definitely a shimmer effect.  Again, it’s somewhat visible in the swatch photo that was taken in the sunlight.

The lip gloss included in this set is a 100% Natural Lipgloss in Icing (sheer playful pink).  I have to say, I’m usually not a big fan of the 100% Natural Lipglosses mostly because if I have a choice in BE glosses, I’m reaching for a Buxom gloss.  But this Icing shade is fabulous.  It is a sheer light pink.  It doesn’t offer a lot in the way of color, but it gives your lips beautiful shine with a little bit of shimmer.  Just like the eye and face colors, the lip color doesn’t have a lot of shimmer, just the right amount.

The other make-up items in this set (Mineral Veil, Big & Bright Eyeliner, and Flawless Definition Mascara) don’t really need to be talked about in great length.  They are the quality is the same as they normally are.  I will say that the eye liner is a nice brown shade.  It’s not a ground breaking shade of brown, but it pairs with the shadows very nicely.

The brushes really don’t need to be discussed either.  I love love LOVE the pink handles.  The brushes are of the same quality as they normally are.

Beyond Gorgeous kind of reminds me of a fancier version of The Girlfriend Collection.  The colors are similar, but Beyond Gorgeous offers more shimmer.  Like the way you reach for the Girlfriend Collection for everyday, Beyond Gorgeous will be that kit you reach for on all of those special occasions and nights out.

Beyond Gorgeous is available BareEscentuals.com.  It has also recently popped up on Beauty.com. It is not available at Sephora.  It is priced at $54 with a value of $145. 

I have to be honest.  I ordered this kit before Shimmer & Shine was available.  Of course, like 2 days after I ordered Beyond Gorgeous, Shimmer & Shine popped up and I immediately felt buyers remorse.  Shimmer & Shine looked like so much more product and so much more fun.  I started feeling like I just threw away $50.  After I received Beyond Gorgeous, any feeling of buyers remorse immediately subsided.  I am thrilled that I picked up Beyond Gorgeous.  It is a beautiful kit and I highly recommend it.

Have you picked up the Bare Minerals Beyond Gorgeous kit yet?  Do you plan on picking it up?

2 Responses to “Bare Escentuals Beyond Gorgeous Review”

  1. [...] ***Make sure you check out my review for BE Beyond Gorgeous complete with swatch pictures in this post. [...]

  2. [...] Gorgeous is marked down to $39 from $54.  If you missed it, I reviewed the Beyond Gorgeous kit here.  It’s a great kit to [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

