AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Top Five Thursdays – Top Five Mascaras

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on June 17, 2010

Happy Thursday!  Just one more day until the weekend.  Thursdays at AnotherBeautyBlog.com are Top Five Thursdays.  Every week I’m going to put up a top five list of my favorite beauty products, cosmetics lines, skin care products, eye shadow colors…you get the picture.  These lists are based on my own humble opinion based on my experiences trying tons and tons of beauty products over the years.  So here we go!  I present my Top Five Mascaras.

1.  Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes! – This has been my go-to mascara for at least six years.  This 4-in-1 mascara has been referred to as a “push-up bra for lashes” thanks to its ability to lengthen, curl, volumize, and condition.  No other mascara that I’ve tried has been able to give me such dark, full, and sexy lashes.  It also makes it look like I’m wearing mascara.  Added bonus:  all natural ingredients.

2.  Dior DiorShow – Often touted as the holy grail amongst beauty addicts, every make-up obsessed gal has this weapon in her beauty arsenal.  This mascara lengthens, separates, and voluminizes every lash.  It’s the closest thing to false eyelashes that I have ever tried.  Added bonus:  available in three colors (black, brown, blue).

3.  Bare Escentuals Buxom Mascara – The first thing that caught my attention with this mascara is the brush.  It looks like a catepillar…it’s long, thin, and has lots of little “legs”.  Buxom promises to volumize lashes up to 300% and boy does it deliver.  My lashes look so much longer and fuller with just one coat of Buxom.  It lasts all day with no clumping or flaking.  Added bonus:  all natural ingredients.

4.  Lancome Definicils – The thinner brush in this mascara helps to evenly distribute clump free mascara.  My lashes are very defined whenever I use this mascara.  One minor problem is that sometimes this mascara goes on a little wet.  Couple that with the fact that this mascara is definately a lengthening product and the result is sometimes the wet lashes hit my skin and leave little marks.  Not that big of a deal, just make sure you let your lashes dry before you open your eyes wide.  Added bonus: available if five shades (two blacks, two browns, blue).

5.  Too Faced Lash Injection – Truthfully, I may not have tried this mascara had it not been for a sample that I received at Sephora.  When you hear “Lash Injection” you may be thinking that you’re going to get overly dark, dramatic, sexy eyes.  You would be wrong.  The look you’re left with is a very natural look.  The black shade is not extremely dark.  Your lashes do get lenghtened and are extremely defined, but it’s not a vixeny look.  It is clump-free, flake-free mascara that even withstood a dip in the pool.  Added bonus: the mascara forms little tubes around each eyelash that you can actually see when you take the mascara off.

So there you have it, my top five mascaras at the moment.  What do you think?  Did I leave out your favorite mascara?  Do you hate one of my top fives?  Got an idea for the next Top Five Thursday?  Leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

 
