AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Budget Beauty Monday – Chapstick

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on June 21, 2010

It’s Monday…time for Budget Beauty Monday!!!  Let’s face it.  After the weekend we usually end up feeling like we ate too much, drank too much, spent too much, and didn’t do enough around the house.  So I figure Monday on AnotherBeautyBlog.com should feature budget beauty products that won’t break the bank so you won’t feel bad about wanting to run out and get them.

For most of my life I was a total Blistex girl.  I would literally have 10 tubs of Blistex Medex at a time…one in my purse, one in my car, one in my schoolbag, one in my desk at home, one in my desk at work, one in my bathroom, one in my nightstand, one in my Sweeties car…you get the picture.  But that all changed once Chapstick started adding some new life to its brand.

I was never a fan of the classic Chapstick.  It was always pretty boring and just tasted really waxy to me.  Cherry Chapstick was okay but I still preferred Blistex.  Then Chapstick started to come out with products like True Shimmer, 100% Naturals, and Fresh Effects and I jumped on the Chapstick bandwagon.

My favorites are the Fresh Effects Chapsticks which come in Refreshing Mandarin and Invigorating Green Tea Mint.  They are so invigorating and truly do make your lips feel refreshed.  Both varities offer a moisturizing cooling sensation when applied to your lips.  They are absolutely perfect for summer.  Neither varities have any sort of pigment to them so they are great for layering with your favorite lipgloss.  I went through a severe case of chapped lips this winter and these Fresh Effects Chapsticks were my saving grace.

I also love the True Shimmers.  Unlike the Fresh Effects, the True Shimmers do have subtle hints of color.  Available in Botanical Berry, Tropical, Peppermint Rush, and Blended Fruit Sherbert, they are also flavored.  Each True Shimmer is also packed with shimmer (I know, unbelievable right?).  If you look at the balms themselves they are absolutely packed with shimmer, but the beauty of this product is that it doesn’t appear that way on your lips.  There is just a subtle hint of shimmer with no gritty glitter feeling.  Peppermint Rush is my favorite because it combines the shimmer of True Shimmers with the cooling effect of Fresh Effects.

Lipstains seem to be taking the beauty market by storm lately.  The problem that I have, and I’m sure most of you have as well, is that while lipstains are great at giving me long-lasting color,they don’t do much in the moisture department.  I hate the drying feeling that lipstains leave on your lips.  While some lipstains come with some sort of moisturizing balm or gloss, many do not.  Then there’s always the problem of using up the balm/gloss before the lipstain.  These Chapstick products are the perfect solution.  The color of the lipstain is unchanged, but a quick coat of Chapstick makes my lips look lush and hydrated.

At under $3 each, the entire line of Chapstick products is an absolute steal.  This is one those products that you can afford to have stashed all over the house, car, work, etc.  Not to mention that you can pick up one of each flavor or type and not break the bank.

Are you hooked on the newer Chapstick lines?  Can’t stand them?  Leave a comment and let everyone know what you think!

Leave a Reply

 
