AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

NARS Pure Sheer SPF Lip Treatment

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on June 22, 2010

Summer is here and the fresh-faced less make-up look is everywhere.  Unless you’re a cast member of Jersey Shore, Jerseylicious, or Jersey Couture and you don’t understand what subtle make-up means.  Off topic…did you see that episode of Jerseylicious where two of the girls were unknowingly sent for make-unders, but as soon as they got them they went back to the hotel and proceeded to put pounds of foundation, eyeliner, and bronzer on?  It was too funny.  Okay, back to the post.  One of the things that I love about summer is that cosmetics companies often release new summer friendly products to help create that natural look.  Although, isn’t it funny that we need make-up to create the natural look?  Anyways, NARS has come out with a new summertime lip product to help create the natural look – NARS Pure Sheer SPF Lip Treatment.

Available in six sheer shades (Aurore – Seashell Pink, Paloma – Cantaloupe, Angelique – Strawberry, Greta- Mauve, Lara – Pastel Pink, and Bianca – Pearl), NARS Pure Sheer SPF Lip Treatment is a great summer lip color product.  The sheer shades offer just a hint of color, but the texture is so smooth and creamy that it makes your lips appear more supple.  It is the perfect complement for the natural summertime look.

As I have already said, these are definately sheer shades.  Depending on the natural color of your lips, some of these shades are harder to see on your lips than others.  When I was testing the swatches in the store, many looked gorgeous on my arm but were much more faint on my lips.  Just something to keep in mind, especially if you have naturally darker toned lips.

The staying power of Pure Sheer is below average in my opinion.  I was able to see the color on my lips for about two or three hours.  After that it was time to reapply.  To me, that is not enough staying power to justify the $25 price tag.  Two to three hours is the staying power I expect from a more affordable drugstore brand, not a $25 lip product.

As for the “treatment” claim of this product.  I don’t think it really lives up as a treatment.  While it felt nice on my lips, my lips don’t feel any more moisturized or soft as a result of NARS Pure Sheer SPF Lip Treatment.  My lips weren’t that dry to begin with, so I can’t see this being a saving grace to a chronic dry/chapped lips sufferer.

If you’re a loyal NARS follower, I’m sure you’ll be all over Pure Sheer SPF Lip Treatment.  But at $25 a pop, I think these are a little pricey when there are a number of products that will offer similar results at a fraction of the cost.  I did love the sheer natural color that was left on my lips, but still don’t think that was enough to justify the cost.

Leave a Reply

 
