AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Budget Beauty Monday – Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstain

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on June 28, 2010

It’s Monday…time for Budget Beauty Monday!!!  Let’s face it.  After the weekend we usually end up feeling like we ate too much, drank too much, spent too much, and didn’t do enough around the house.  So I figure Monday on AnotherBeautyBlog.com should feature budget beauty products that won’t break the bank so you won’t feel bad about wanting to run out and get them.

This weeks Budget Beauty Monday product goes hand in hand with last Thursday’s Top Five Thursday list.  On Friday I picked up the new Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstain.  I was wandering around the grocery store and these babies caught my eye…especially the 50% sale price!  After testing out two shades this weekend I am officially sold on this product.

The staying power of Color Sensational blew my expectations out of the water.  Even though this is a lipstain, I figured I’d be looking at two hours of coverage at the most.  Boy was I wrong.  Color Sensational lasted on my lips for six hours!  Six hours of talking, eating, and drinking Diet Coke right out of a can.  They also seemed to wear off rather evenly, although I think that lighter, more natural shades tend to appear as if they wearing off more evenly in part because the difference in color between the lip color and your lips is not that far off.

The two shades that I purchased were In The Buff (05) and Wink Of Pink (15).  In The Buff was not as nude as you would have expected.  When applied to my lips it appeared more of a darker nude-y pink.  It looked very natural on my lips and really made my lips pop.  Wink Of Pink was a berry pink that gave my lips a very nice berry kissed look.  Both of these shades were on the lighter end of the spectrum, in fact I think they were the lightest of all of the shades available for Color Sensational Lipstain.  I picked these for that reason because I really wanted that natural summer looking lip and both shades provided that look. 

Color Sensational Lipstain is one of those magic marker types of lipstains.  The tips were very moist (any other How I Met Your Mother fans laughing at that word choice?) and the product was easy to apply.  I didn’t have to go over and over the same spot to get coverage like you have to with some lipstains.  It had a sort of fruity taste for a few seconds after applying, but that quickly faded.

I also love the fact that Color Sensational did not have any sort of taste.  Of course I wasn’t running my tongue over my lips before the product dried, but I couldn’t taste anything after it dried.  And speaking of drying, while there was some of that drying feeling that just about every lipstain has on your lips it didn’t feel overly drying.  During the day I did apply a coat of Chapstick once, but that’s it.

One thing that could prove troublesome for some is the fact that Color Sensational did seem to emphasize problem areas on the lips.  I noticed that it highlighted some of the natural lines I had on my lips.  I can only imagine that if you weren’t careful with the application of this product it could bleed into fine lines around the mouth.

The regular price for Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstain has been between $7.49 and $7.99 at the stores I’ve seen it at this weekend.  I picked it up for $3.99 on sale, but there was also a $1 coupon on the display so I only paid $2.99!  On sale, this lipstain is an absolute steal.  Let’s face it, drugstores are always having make-up on sale so you should be able to find this at a decent price.  Coupled with the fact that this lipstain is long-lasting and very natural looking (at least with the shades that I purchased were) and I would say that Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstain is a budget beauty must have.

Have you tried Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstain yet?  Love it?  Hate it?  Leave a comment and let us know!

***I have pictures to share with you, but I’m having problems getting them off of the memory card.  Check back later for updates!

Leave a Reply

 
