AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on July 26, 2010

I am a BzzAgent.  For those of you who are unaware of BzzAgent it is a company that promotes word of mouth campaigns through everyday people like you and me.  If you are selected to be part of a given BzzAgent campaign, you’re usually sent a product to test out as well as a few coupons or samples to pass out to others to get the word out there about a new product.

Anyhoo, I was recently chosen to participate in the BzzAgent Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion campaign.  Got 2 B has just reformulated their Smooth Operator line to add cashmere…yes, cashmere (who else is thinking of the Seinfeld episode with the red dot on the cashmere sweater?).  BzzAgent sent me a coupon for a full-sized bottle of Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion.

From Got 2 B – “Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion shapes, smoothes, controls fly-aways and gives your hair an amazing weightless lustre that’s touchably soft.  Plus it protects against damage from heat styling and contains a UV protectant, too.”

So what did I think?  I thought the new Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion was a great product.  Truthfully, it’s a product I probably wouldn’t have tried had I not been sent a sample thanks largely to the fact that I think the packaging is a little gaudy.  I know, I know, we’re not supposed to judge beauty products by the packaging, but seriously, the Got 2 B Smooth Operator line looks like Ed Hardy was told to create something using only shades of pink and silver.  And then add the useless charms on top of the bottle and you’ve got something that looks like it would be coveted by grade schoolers. 

The Lustre Lotion can be used on either wet or dry hair, so of course I tested it on both.  For me, it wasn’t as effective on wet hair.  My hair can be so frizzy that while it did tame some of the frizziness when applied to wet hair, it didn’t do enough that I would wear it out in public.  I applied the Lustre Lotion to towel-dried hair and then let it air dry.  I didn’t do any styling to it because I wanted to see what it would look like without any added help.  When my hair dried it was incredibly soft and looked and felt very airy.  My frizz was noticeably down, but it wasn’t completely gone.  My curls were not very defined.  I was left with more subtle looking waves.  Again, nothing I would wear out in public, but a good start.

Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion on dry hair, on the other hand, was spectacular.  I always get nervous about applying “lotions” or “creams” to dry hair.  There is always a chance that you are going to get a heavy, greasy, weighed down look.  This couldn’t be further from the truth with the Lustre Lotion.  When I applied it to dry hair, my curls were noticeably defined and my frizziness was completely tamed.  Just like when I applied the Lustre Lotion to my wet hair, my dry hair was incredibly soft and airy.

When I straighten my hair I am often plagued by fly aways, especially around my forehead.  Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion was a Godsend for these horrific fly aways. 

The scent of Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion is rather pleasant.  It’s a fruity scent that is subtle when you’re applying the product but is virtually non-existant throughout the day. You don’t have to worry about the Lustre Lotion competing with your fragrance.

As for the claims that it protects against heat styling, I can’t really comment.  I’ve only been using the product for a month.  My hair has never shown signs of damage from heat styling so it’s not as if I can say the appearance of my hair is getting better.

Overall, Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion is a great product.  While it didn’t completely get rid of my frizz, it did a decent enough job that I will definitely be adding the Lustre Lotion to my arsenal of hair care products.  That being said, if you’re lucky enough to have only a little bit of frizz I think that the Lustre Lotion would do a tremendous job of getting rid of your frizzies.  It’s a nice alternative to , and it won’t leave your hair looking weighed down or greasy.  Don’t let the gaudy packaging fool you, this is a serious product!  So that’s my review.  Have you tried Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion?  Do you love it?  Do you hate it?  Leave a comment and let us know!

Disclaimer: BzzAgent provided me a full size Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion for the purpose of this review as well as 5 $1 off coupons and 10 sample packets to pass out to others so that they could also try Got 2 B Smooth Operator Smoothing Lustre Lotion. All of the opinions expressed in this review are my own and have in no way been influenced by BzzAgent, Got 2 B, or any other company or person.

Leave a Reply

 
