AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Covergirl LashBlast Fusion Mascara Review

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on August 18, 2010

***Pictures are coming!  I’m waiting for my Sweetie to come home and take some snapshots.  The auto-focus on my camera is focusing on my bangs instead of my eyes when I try to do a self portrait!  Come back to check out the photos.***

I am a BzzAgent.  For those of you who are unaware of BzzAgent it is a company that promotes word of mouth campaigns through everyday people like you and me.  If you are selected to be part of a given BzzAgent campaign, you’re usually sent a product to test out as well as a few coupons or samples to pass out to others to get the word out there about a new product.

Anyhoo, I was recently chosen to participate in the BzzAgent Covergirl LashBlast Fusion Mascara campaign.

From Covergirl:  “COVERGIRL LashBlast Fusion is the perfect fusion of LashBlast’s super-volumizing brush and a new buildable fiber-stretch lengthening formula that works together to thicken and extend the look of individual lashes.  So no more having to pick between lashes with volume or length.  And no more having to use two mascaras at once (enjoy that extra minute of me-time, ladies).”

Long story short, using Covergirl LashBlast Fusion mascara you’ll get both longer and thicker lashes.  Sounds great, right?  Who wouldn’t want longer and thicker lashes?

First, a little about the mascara and packaging.  I received LashBlast Fusion mascara in 860 Very Black.  I liked the packaging immediately.  The purple color is vibrant and happy.  Like the other Fusion mascaras, the LashBlast Fusion mascara is applied with a rubber bristled brush.  Covergirl states that the brush is an “oversized volumizing brush.”  The mascara itself is a “fiberstretching lengthening formula.”  So the brush is responsible for the volume and the mascara is responsible for the lengthening.  In order to show off the fancy-dancy brush, LashBlast Fusion comes with the brush outside of the mascara.

Now, a little background on my eyelashes.  While I was not blessed with naturally super-long luscious lashes, I don’t think my lashes are that bad.  They are definitely visible without mascara and I would say they are about medium length.

Now, let’s get on to applying and wearing the LashBlast Fusion mascara!  When I went to apply the mascara I will admit that the big, fat tube felt kind of clunky in my hand most likely due to the fact that my normal mascara (Tarte’s Lights Camera Lashes) is not as wide.  After a few uses I was more used to it.  The mascara went on nice and smooth.  I applied multiple coats, but I couldn’t tell you how many.  I do not count coats, I simply just apply in rapid motion until it looks good.

When I finished applying I was happy with some of what I saw in the mirror.  My lashes were 100% clump free.  They were very defined, but they didn’t seem very volumized or lengthened.  What the hell?  Where were these lush and full lashes I was promised?  After trying LashBlast Fusion everyday for a few more days I think I may have determined what went wrong with the first application.  Like I said earlier, LashBlast Fusion comes packaged with the brush outside of the tube of mascara.  I think that the brush needs to suck up enough mascara before it is completely effective.  Of course, this is my assumption, but after the brush was in the tube for 24 hours it definitely left me with fuller, longer lashes.

Even though my lashes were longer and fuller, they weren’t “Oh My God” longer and fuller.  The mascara didn’t flake and lasted most of the day.  Given the fact that LashBlast Fusion didn’t provide super glamorous lashes, I wouldn’t recommend this as a special occasion or night-on-the-town mascara.  I would, however, recommend this as an everyday mascara.  It did make my lashes more noticeable without looking vampy.  It was completely clump free and flake free.  All of these attributes make it the perfect everyday mascara for everything from an office setting to running around doing errands.

A downside of LashBlast Fusion mascara is that it is NOT waterproof.  Let me just tell you, it isn’t even close to waterproof.  One of the days I was testing this mascara I jumped in the pool and when I popped back out of the water my Sweetie lovingly referred to me as Alice Cooper.  So, if you’re planning on taking a dip in the pool, lake, ocean, etc. I would rethink wearing LashBlast Fusion. 

To sum it up, I would definitely recommend Covergirl LashBlast Fusion mascara as an everyday budget mascara.  It does give you fuller, longer lashes that are clump and flake free, but it lacks the glamour that you would want for special occasions.  It’s not waterproof, so don’t jump in the pool!   Check out Covergirl.com for even more information on LashBlast Fusion mascara as well as the whole line.

Disclaimer:  BzzAgent provided me a full size Covergirl LashBlast Fusion mascara for the purpose of this review as well as 5 $2 off coupons to pass out to others so that they could also try Covergirl LashBlast Fusion mascara.  All of the opinions expressed in this review are my own and have in no way been influenced by BzzAgent, Covergirl, or any other company or person.

Have you tried Covergirl LashBlast Fusion mascara?  Love it?  Hate it?  Leave a comment and let us know!

Leave a Reply

 
