AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Budget Beauty Monday – Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eye Shadow Palettes

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on August 23, 2010

It’s Monday…time for Budget Beauty Monday!!! Let’s face it. After the weekend we usually end up feeling like we ate too much, drank too much, spent too much, and didn’t do enough around the house. So I figure Monday on AnotherBeautyBlog.com should feature budget beauty products that won’t break the bank so you won’t feel bad about wanting to run out and get them.

When I used to hear “Wet n Wild Cosmetics” I would cringe.  The phrase would make me think of cheap and gaudy make-up that I wouldn’t be caught dead looking at let alone applying.  I remember being younger and my little sister would often be appeased from having a fit in the store by receiving a Wet n Wild product.  Later after we returned home I would find her with nasty blue eye shadow all around her eyes.  But that was years ago.  Fast forward to 2010 and rumblings around beauty addicts is that Wet n Wild has started to produce some pretty decent products.  At the recommendation of a reader of this blog, I picked up the Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eye Shadow Palette.  I cannot believe what I have been missing out on.

First, let me just tell you that these babies must be in high demand.  I had to go to three Walgreens before I found any of the Wet n Wild ColorIcon palettes in stock.  Before I even got to try this product out I thought that had to be a good sign.  Each palette comes with 6 shadows…3 in a matte finish and 3 in a shimmer finish.  I love that WNW did this because you don’t have to decide whether you want matte or shimmer…you get all of the shades in both finishes.  Genius.

When I finally did find the palettes in stock I decided to go with palette 247 Pride.  The Pride palette features shades of white, green, and blue.  These shadows are so pigmented and vibrant I thought I was playing around with MAC shadows.  While these aren’t as upscale as MAC shadows, I was really blown away by the quality and staying power of Wet n Wild ColorIcon shadow.  The colors are extremely buildable, but just like most matte shadows, you have to pay attention while applying to prevent patchy-ness. 

I used Wet n Wild ColorIcon shadows on un-primed eyes and the shadows lasted for at least 6 hours.  Having 6 shadows in one palette allows for a wide range of looks.  I’ve done everything from an all matte eye to a combination of matte and shimmer eye.  I have yet to be disappointed. 

The best feature of Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eye Shadow Palettes is by far their price.  They were only $4.99.  Even better, they had $1 coupons attached to them so they were only $3.99.  The price makes them perfect to be stashed in your car as part of an emergency make-up kit.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t bring myself to leave a $22 eye shadow, an $18 lipgloss, a $20 mascara, etc. in an emergency kit in the car that I don’t use that often.  I’m all about the drugstore brands for such a kit.

I highly recommend Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eye Shadow Palettes.  Their affordability, staying power, and color pigmentation makes these a winner.

4 Responses to “Budget Beauty Monday – Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eye Shadow Palettes”

  1. I am so thrilled that this brand is on the up and up! Your description of what one thinks upon hearing “Wet N Wild” is so spot on. A kudos to the emergency makeup bag in the car — this is seriously a stroke of genius!

  2. […] sale on Wet n Wild cosmetics.  Given the fact that I was pleasantly surprised when I tried out the Wet n Wild Coloricon Eye Shadow Palettes, I thought that was the perfect time to try out a few of the other goodies from Wet n Wild.  […]

  3. […] first proclaimed my love for the Wet N Wild Coloricon Palettes in a Budget Beauty Monday post in August.  Unlike the original Coloricon palettes, the Holiday palettes do not have corresponding shimmer […]

Leave a Reply

 
