AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Smashbox Finishing Touches 3-piece Collection

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on August 28, 2010

So let me just tell you, I was so excited about this next product, but now I’m disappointed.  Recall that last week Smashbox was the Today’s Special Value on QVC.  During their shows, they also introduced a few new products, many of which are exclusive to QVC until next year.  One those products was the Soft Focus Powder Eyeliner.  But I held off because in the advance sale email I received for the Smashbox TSV, there was also a blurb and picture about the Smashbox Finishing Touches 3-piece Collection and how it would be available at a Try Me Price August 28.  The Finishing Touches 3-piece Collection features the Soft Focus Powder Eyeliner in Gunmetal, the Brow Tech To Go, and a lip enhancing gloss in Allure.  I have used the original Smashbox Brow Tech product for years so I was also interested in trying out the Brow Tech To Go.  So that settled it, I would wait for the Finishing Touches Collection and get both products at a lower price.  I think I’m glad I waited, but for the wrong reasons.

Last night I went on to QVC.com to place my order for the Finishing Touches Collection.  I was ecstatic to see that the Try Me Price was only $29.16.  An unbelievable price given that the Soft Focus Powder Eyeliner is $19.98 and the Brow Tech To Go is $23.76.  On the right hand side of the page was a link to the Soft Focus Powder Eyeliner.  I wanted to check and see if the item offered in the Finishing Touchs Collection was full-sized.  So I clicked over the individual eyeliner page and my heart just dropped.  With 30 reviews, the Smashbox Soft Focus Powder Eyeliner had an average rating of 2 out of 5 stars.  22 people gave it 1 star.  Reviewers were listing complaints of the powder flaking off of their eyes and onto their cheeks.  One woman said she had racoon eyes shortly after using the product.  “Messy” seems to be the word of choice in the reviews.

What a let down.  I was so excited when I saw this product being presented on QVC last week.  Right now, I’m on the fence about ordering this product.  Although the Soft Focus Powder Eyeliner is most certain to be a let down, I still want to get my hands on the Brow Tech To Go.  Instead of just buying one product, for about $6 more I get 3.  But God knows I need another lip gloss like I need a hole in the head.  Decisions, decisions.

Have you tried Smashbox Soft Focus Powder Eyeliner?  How about the Brow Tech To Go?

Leave a Reply

 
