AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Smashbox Holiday Wish Kits

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on September 22, 2010

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…Not only have department stores begun to put up Christmas items (Have you been to Kohl’s lately?  I’ve already picked up a bunch of new ornaments and if my Sweetie wasn’t here to stop me I would already have my Christmas stuff up!), but more and more holiday kits are popping up at Sephora.  The latest comes from our friends at Smashbox.

First up, the new Eye Wish Palette.  This palette is jam backed with everything you would need for your eyes.  The chic gold, mirrored box houses 12 eye shadows in champagne, soft gray, matte bone, ballet pink, shimmering bronze, mauve, aqua, cool gray, warm brown, eggplant, deep teal, and charcoal, 4 cream eyeliners in dark brown, black violet, blue-black, and gunmetal, and a Photo Finish Lid Primer Mini, and a Lash DNA Mascara Mini.  A set of “Get-the-Look” cards also accompanies the Eye Wish Palette to help you create a bunch of festive looks for all of your holiday get togethers.

The Eye Wish Palette is priced at $45.  When you look at the $243 value, $45 seems like a steal.  I’m on the fence, though.  While all of the colors in this palette are beyond gorgeous, it seems like the jewel tone shades are shades that I have just picked up in this Fall’s palettes.  There are also 3 shades of brown.  Anyone who has been reading this blog for awhile knows that I have an over-abundance of brown shades.  I do like the fact that this palette does include both lighter and darker shades, but since a number of these shadows are recent duplicates for me I’m not sure if I want to spend $45 on things I already have.  That being said, I wouldn’t be disappointed if Santa left this in my stocking!

Up next, the Wish For The Perfect Pout lip gloss collection.  This collection features 6 shimmering shades of glosses, including holiday exclusive shades.  The shades include Luster (sheer golden pink), Candid (pink with gold shimmer), Radiant (shimmering pink plum), Baby Pout (a sheer and shimmering version of Pout), Ecstasy (shimmering blackberry), and Divine (golden nude).  Luster and Candid are full-sized versions (.2 oz) while the other shades are about 3/4 sized (.14 oz).

I have always been a fan of Smashbox’s Lip Enhancing Glosses.  They are usually fairly sheer with just enough color but with tons of shine.  Of the Wish For The Perfect Pout shades, Ecstasy is the only shade that concerns me.  Personally, I am not a fan of darker lips.  That being said, since these glosses tend to be fairly sheer it may not be that bad.  I guess I’ll have to try it out and see.  If I hate it I can always give it to a friend.  Wish For The Perfect Pout is priced at $29 with a $96 value.

Finally, we have the Wish For The Perfect Pencils eye liner kit.  This kit features 4 Limitless Eye Liners in Onyx (black), Orchid (plum), Graphite (gray), and 14k (gold).  These liners are 3/4 sized (.3 oz instead of .4 oz).  The full sized Limitless Eye Liners come with a sharpener in the cap, but I’m not sure if the Wish For The Perfect Pencils liners do as well as there is no mention of the sharpeners in the description.

In the past, I have posted about Smashbox Limitless Liners and professed my love for them.  Of the 3 Smashbox holiday kits, Wish For The Perfect Pencils is the one I must have.  If there is one gripe that I have it is probably about the lack of color in this kit.  While it’s nice to see the 14k gold shade in there, the black, gray, and plum shades aren’t in any way new.  Don’t get me wrong, black, gray, and plum shades are what I personally reach for the most often when it comes to eye liners, but during the holiday season I sometimes want something super fun and bold.  I think a bright, bold metallic green would have been a fabulous addition to this set.  But that’s just my humble opinion.  I will still pick this kit up and love it.  Wish For The Perfect Pencils is priced at $16 with a $50 value.

And there you have it, the Wish theme holiday kits from Smashbox for the 2010 holiday season.  Any Smashbox fan would love these kits.  All 3 of these items are limited edition, so once they’re gone, they’re gone.  They are currently available for purchase at Sephora.com.  There are a few other pieces from Smashbox for the holidays that I will be highlighting over the coming days.

What do you think of the 2010 Smashbox Holiday Wish Kits?  Which one are you hoping Santa will leave underneath your Christmas tree?

One Response to “Smashbox Holiday Wish Kits”

  1. […] few weeks ago I posted about some of Smashbox Holiday 2010 kits, including the Smashbox Eye Wish Palette.  Judging by the amount of visitors that have found their […]

Leave a Reply

 
