AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Budget Beauty Monday – Wet n Wild Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencil

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on October 11, 2010

It’s Monday…time for Budget Beauty Monday!!! Let’s face it. After the weekend we usually end up feeling like we ate too much, drank too much, spent too much, and didn’t do enough around the house. So I figure Monday on AnotherBeautyBlog.com should feature budget beauty products that won’t break the bank so you won’t feel bad about wanting to run out and get them.

A few weeks ago I mentioned that Walgreens was having a half off sale on Wet n Wild cosmetics.  Given the fact that I was pleasantly surprised when I tried out the Wet n Wild Coloricon Eye Shadow Palettes, I thought that was the perfect time to try out a few of the other goodies from Wet n Wild.  Today, let’s talk about Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencil.

Wet n Wild Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencils are fat cream shadow crayons.  The colors are very vibrant and there is a metallic sheen to them.  Very eye-catching!  I picked up 3 shades:  Envy (green), Techno (purple), and Electro (blue).   All 3 of these shades are very bold and fall into the jewel-tone category.  I absolutely loved all 3 shades both in the tube and once applied.

When I first applied the Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencil, I was impressed at how pigmented they are.  While they could be applied sheer if you use an extremely light hand, these are opaque colors.  A few swipes of the pencils and my eyes looked amazing.  The colors made my eyes pop.

The texture of these pencils is amazing.  They are incredibly soft and creamy.  There is nothing I hate more than a pencil eye liner/shadow that tugs at the eyes (that can’t be good for preventing wrinkles!).  That is so not the case with Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencils.  The shadow glided on.

Although these are “shadow pencils,” I also tried using them as eye liners.  They worked as eye liners as long as you are going for a thicker line.  Like I said before, these are fat pencils with a broad tip.  I loved the effect of the bold metallic line.  It definitely made the eye shadow I was wearing pop.  It’s a great way to wake-up an old shadow.

While I loved the look of Wet n Wild Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencils, I was some what disappointed with its durability.  First, these babies are prone to creasing.  A primer helped.  I will say that on the cooler days that I wore these, the creasing wasn’t that bad, but on the warmer, more humid days the creasing was more significant.  With fall and winter temperatures right around the corner the creasing may not be as bad.

Second, if you are an eye rubber, you may want to pass on these.  When I swatched these on my arms, the shadows would smear when I would slightly pass my fingers over them even hours after they were applied.   That being said, they were still there hours after I applied, but you would have to be careful not to touch them!

Oh!  Also, a word of warning.  Be careful when removing the wrapper from these.  They were kind of tough to get off and as I was pulling at the plastic the top came off of one of the pencils and sliced into the tip of one of the pencil.  Whoops!

If you’re worried about Idol Eyes Creme Shadows creasing, I suggest using them as a base for another shadow.  I think everyone knows that I am going crazy with the purple shadows.  While purple shadows are all the rage right now and I can find a wide range of shades and pigment, they weren’t over the last few years.  As such, I have a handful of purples that are very sheer and just don’t have the pop that I would like.  I used the Techno shade as a base for these shadows and was very pleased with the results. 

Overall, I was pleased with Wet n Wild Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencils.  The colors are amazing and the price is right.  During the Walgreens half off sale I got them for $0.99 a piece!  That’s just crazyness!  I wouldn’t wear these during the humid summers in Chicago, but I’m going to give them a try during the color months to see if there is more staying power.  Would I pay $10 for these?  No.  But at $0.99 they are a budget beauty steal.

Have you tried Wet n Wild Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencils?  Love ’em?  Hate ’em?  Let us know!

*Sorry about the poor picture quality of the swatches.  My Sweetie is going to the United Center tonight to get his picture taken with the Stanley Cup and took the good camera with him.  Obviously, his picture opportunity is far more important than make-up swatches!  I have a few other products to tell you about, but I’ll be waiting to get my hands on the good camera before I post!

Leave a Reply

 
