AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Budget Beauty Monday – Wet N Wild Holiday 2010 Coloricon Palettes

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on October 25, 2010

***Make sure you enter our Wet n Wild Holiday Pixie Palette Giveaway!***

It’s Monday…time for Budget Beauty Monday!!! Let’s face it. After the weekend we usually end up feeling like we ate too much, drank too much, spent too much, and didn’t do enough around the house. So I figure Monday on AnotherBeautyBlog.com should feature budget beauty products that won’t break the bank so you won’t feel bad about wanting to run out and get them.

Let me just tell you, I am so excited about this post.  It is finally time to really discuss the Wet N Wild Holiday 2010 Coloricon Palettes.  I posted a teaser post this weekend to let you know that I had gotten all four of these elusive palettes and to also let you know that they are BOGO (buy one, get one free) at Jewel-Osco this week.  Now it’s time to get to the fun part, swatches, pictures, and thoughts!  Here is my review for the Wet N Wild 2010 Holiday Palettes!

I first proclaimed my love for the Wet N Wild Coloricon Palettes in a Budget Beauty Monday post in August.  Unlike the original Coloricon palettes, the Holiday palettes do not have corresponding shimmer and matte shades.  For the most part, the shades are shimmer.  Come on, it’s the holidays!  It’s all about the shimmer!  But just like the original Coloricon palettes, the formulas for these shadows are amazing:  creamy, smooth, and long-lasting, not to mention full of pigment.  The Holiday palettes also come with a bonus eyeliner pencil in a color to match the palette.  All of this for the unbelievable price of $4.99!

Let’s get to the colors shall we.  There are four Wet N Wild Holiday Coloricon Palettes for you to choose from.  Golden Godess offers six beautiful neutral shades on beige, brown, copper, etc. with a matching chocolate brown eye liner pencil.  I’ve been over neutrals for a while (at least over buying more them to add to my ever growing collection), but I am back on board with this palette.  It is amazing to see just how different the shades are.  Looking at all six of the shade swatches on my arm, it is such a broad spectrum of neutral shades.  I am loving the coppery shades.

Night Elf is definitely the most unique palette of the group.  It is the smokey eye palette of the group (black, silver, white), but with one big suprise.  It has a festive red shade.  It is not a scarey red by any means.  If red can be subtle, this would be the subtle red.  It doesn’t have much shimmer in it compared to the other shades and blends with the other colors beautifully.  It is clear that whoever put this palette together really took the time to think about how the colors correspond with each other and how they will come together to create a fabulous look as opposed to just throwing a red in there just to do it.  You know what I mean?  Night Elf also comes with a black eye liner pencil.

Sugar Plum Fairy is my dream come true.  It’s a packed to the brim with purples, violets, and plums!  Purple smokey eye, here I come!  Looking at the palette, it looks like the top two shades are a cream and beige shade, but once you apply the shades they are really shades of violet.  I love the super dark plum shade.  It is perfect for running over your lash line and for blending into your crease to make that smokey eye.  Sugar Plum Fairy also comes with a bold purple eye liner pencil.

Snow Sprite features beautiful shades of blue and green.  The name really suits this palette because I can picture happy little elves sporting these shades (yes, I realize that I sound crazy).  The lighter shades in this palette have a very nice metallic sheen to them.  It almost looks like a foiling technique has been used to apply them, but that’s they way the look straight out of the palette.  Just like the other palettes, the darker shades will lend themselves perfectly in creating a smokey eye.  Snow Sprite also comes with a silvery-blue eye liner pencil.

Okay, who isn’t excited after seeing all of those swatch pictures?!?!  I keep looking down at my swatch covered arm and finding that I am loving these palettes more and more if that’s even possible.  The pictures really don’t do these palettes and the shades justice.  They are even more beautiful in person.

This is my first time using Wet N Wild eye liner pencils and I have to admit I like what I see.  They have a creamy texture and glided on.  I usually use liner pots that need to be applied with a brush or fatter crayon shadow liners, so I did need to run these pencils over my eyes a few more times to get the more defined line that I prefer.  But that’s really not that big of a deal.

What else can I say, I LOVE LOVE LOVE these Wet N Wild Holiday palettes!  If you are a beauty snob who still won’t give Wet N Wild a chance, please, I’m begging you, pick up at least one of these palettes.  Give it a try.  What have you got to lose?

With the BOGO sale going on at Jewel, I’ve already picked up a bunch of these for friends and family this Christmas.  I’m determined to dispell the myth that Wet N Wild is the tacky make-up brand from your youth!

The Wet N Wild Holiday 2010 Coloricon Palettes have an MSRP of $4.99 each.  If you haven’t found them in your local grocery stores or drugstores, don’t worry, they are coming!  When you do see them, don’t wait in picking them up.  These palettes are limited edition and it’s a safe bet that they are going to sell out quickly.

I said that I had picked up a few of these palettes.  So I’m thinking that maybe I should share the love and have a giveaway.  What do you guys think?  Check back later in the week!

Have you been lucky enough to find the Wet N Wild Holiday 2010 Coloricon Palettes yet?  Which one is your favorite?  If you haven’t gotten them yet, which one are you dying to get your hands on?

13 Responses to “Budget Beauty Monday – Wet N Wild Holiday 2010 Coloricon Palettes”

  1. […] I have posted my full review with swatch pictures of the Wet N Wild Holiday 2010 Coloricon Palettes here. […]

  2. Ellen said

    Thank goodness! I’m in Chicago and have gone to umpteen Wag’s and CVS’s to no avail. I’m checking out the Jewel on Stony tomorrow. Which store did you find them in?

    • Hey Ellen!

      I have found them at many Jewels in the South Burbs from Oak Lawn to Lemont as well as the Chicago Jewel on Ashland and Roosevelt. Some stores had the actual display while a few just had the holiday palettes stacked on top of each other on a shelf (don’t know what that’s all about). My sister was at a Jewel that didn’t have them out, but she asked someone if they had them and they found them in the back waiting to be put out. Hope you find them. Let us know how you like them when you do try them!

  3. […] clearly have a ton of Wet N Wild Holiday Palette lovers out there!  My Budget Beauty Monday – Wet N Wild Holiday 2010 Coloricon Palette review post has been getting an unbelivable about of visitors. I just thought I would give everyone the heads […]

  4. To anyone who hasn’t found these at Jewel, I just posted a new post with information on Walgreens’ 50% off Wet N Wild Cosmetics sale starting next week (October 31st). I’m thinking that once Halloween is over and the Halloween beauty displays are done, the Christmas holiday beauty displays will pop up! Hope this helps all of my fellow beauty addicts who are dying to pick up these palettes!

  5. Ellen said

    Thank you so much for the reply. I went to 3 Jewel’s today to no avail, again. I’ll be in the Loop tomorrow and will DEF hit Ashland & Roosevelt. I was going to get the new Mac Tartan palette with the purples but I think I’ll check this out first. Let’s see, $2.50 vs $36.00 . . .

    • Ellen,

      I’m sorry you couldn’t find them! It sucks that not all Jewels have them out yet. Did you see my post / comment about the Walgreens 50% off sale on Wet N Wild next week? I really really really think Wags will have them out as soon as they move their Halloween make-up. I know my Wags has their entire front displays full of Halloween make-up thus having no room for the WnW holiday palettes.

      As for the MAC Tartan palettes, I’m so with you on the price! I was also eyeing the purple palette, but then came to my senses and realized I’m happy with the Wet n Wild palettes, as well as the numerous purple shades I’ve already picked up from other fall/winter palettes.

      Good luck in your search for the Wet N Wild palettes! Definitely let me know when you find them!!!

  6. Ellen said

    GOT EM (all but Night Elf which was sold out but I’ll find it)! LOVE EM! I found them yesterday at the Wag’s on 70-something and Stony for 50% off. Wore Sugar Plum Fairy today. Wow! Great colors that look fantastic together. I especially like the greyed down purple, bottom left. They were pigmented, easy to blend and no fading at all after a long day of running around, in other words everything we’ve come to expect from the new WNW. Well worth the $ and the search. So glad I didn’t get the MAC purple palette!

  7. […] Another Beauty Blog (swatches of all 4 kits) […]

  8. sammie said

    i can’t find them anywhere,i live in huntington wv,the tri-state area.can’t find them in kentucky or ohio.either.where do you all live maybe i can get your store send let me buy online.

Leave a Reply

 
