AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow Review

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on October 28, 2010

About a month and a half ago, I posted that I had pre-ordered the Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow from QVC.  After weeks and weeks of waiting, it has finally been delivered and it’s time for a review! 

If you recall, I picked the Rose Gold shade when I ordered.  Apparently, they have changed the name to Slate.  Personally, I think they name Rose Gold is more appropriate for this shade as opposed to Slate.  When I hear Slate I think of more gray and silver tones.  While I can see a little of the gray and silver tones in the Slate shade, I do see a lot more rose and gold tones.

For $22.80 I received .1 oz. of Slate Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow as well as a Tarte Cream Shadow Brush.  If you ask me, the brush is useless.  My first attempts at sweeping the brush across the cream shadow were fruitless.  Absolutely no shadow attached to the brush bristles.  Given the fact that the brush is very soft and the shadow is somewhat hard, it is not very easy to push the brush into the shadow.  I used my finger to push the bristles into the shadow pot and eventually just used my finger to apply the shadow as well.  After I “broke in” the shadow, the brush worked a little better, but not that great.

The Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow itself is really quite beautiful, if understated.  Surprisingly, I went with a more neutral shade when selecting my shade as opposed to going with the bolder purple and green shades.  I did this because I have been neglecting the more neutral shades as of a late and seem to be amassing a surplus of bolder purples and greens.  That being said, when I watched the initial presentation for the Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow, the Rose Gold (now Slate) shade did look like it was going to be a more bold shade than what I am experiencing.  The swatch on my arm looks a lot bolder than when I wear it on my eyes.  Perhaps if I layer it over another shadow or base I will get more of a pop.  If you are a Bare Escentuals girl, this Slate shade reminds me of a combination of Nude Beach and Drama.  I think that pairing Slate with either of these shadows will leave amazing results.

There is some shimmer to the Slate shade of Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow.  It’s not glittery.  It’s almost like a sheer metallic shimmer.  It is not over the top and would be suitable for day wear in the office. 

As far as the durability of Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow goes, it is long-lasting.  I put it on in at 8 in the morning and when I looked in the mirror after dinner at about 7 in the evening, the shadow was still there.  It had faded slightly, but not drastically.  I did not have any issues with creasing, but I am fortunate that creasing usually isn’t an issue for me.  Since this is a cream shadow, if you have had issues with creasing in the past, you may have that issue here.

I do have an issue with the size of this product.  You only receive .1 oz. of product.  A quick glance at some of the more popular cream shadows out there shows that they all give you more product.  The other cream shadows are also cheaper.  That being said, they don’t come with a brush, but as I already said, the brush in this set is rather useless.  I personally would rather spend less money and get more shadow without a brush then spend more money and get less shadow with a brush.

Overall, I liked the new Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadow.  Liked, not loved.  The shadow was great, but the brush was a waste.  I would love to see a lower price on the shadow sans the brush.  I would be more interested in picking up another shade that way.  The other bad thing is that there are only 4 shades of this shadow available and if you ask me, there isn’t a lot of variety.  If you already have a favorite line of cream shadows, I wouldn’t run out to pick these up.  If you’re interested in trying out cream shadows for the first time or you’re interested in checking out new cream shadows then I would give these a look.  Just know that if you’re looking for bright and bold shades, you are not going to find them here.

Have you tried the new Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Shadows yet?  Love them?  Like them?  Hate them?

Leave a Reply

 
