AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Benefit Cosmetics Femme Metale

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on December 15, 2010

The Benefit Cosmetics Femme Metale kit was one of those kits that I know I wanted as soon as I saw it.  I’m already a fan of Benefit’s Creaseless Cream Eyeshadows so I was immediately impressed by the value of this kit.  Originally priced at $38, the Femme Metale kit is the same price as 2 Creaseless Cream Eyeshadows ($19 a piece).  The uniqueness of some of the shades in this collection, particularly the Plum-ing For Gold shade, also had me lusting.  When UPS delivered my order from Sephora and I finally got to play with Femme Metale, my expectations were blown away.

The Femme Metale kit features 3 Creaseless Cream Eyeshadows in Platinum (metallic white), Plum-ing For Golf (metallic plum), and Taupe-aztic (metallic golden beige) and 3 eyeliners in Blinged (silver), Gem-N-Eye (golden olive shimmer), and  Steel Her Date (steal blue shimmer).  All of the colors are new and limited edition to Benefit so no worries about repeating colors here.

Let’s start with the Creaseless Cream Eyeshadows first.  Like I said, I was already a huge fan of Benefit’s Creaseless Cream Eyeshadows, but truthfully, it’s been awhile since I’ve bought one.  That’s simply because they really last a long time!  I don’t know if this is a newer formula or not, but the eyeshadows in Femme Metale seemed a little creamier than the other Benefit cream shadows I have used.  I liked that these seemed creamier and hope that Benefit continues to offer creamier cream shadows.

The colors in this kit are gorgeous.  I said I was most intrigued by Plum-ing For Gold.  If you’ve been reading this blog you know that I am a huge fan of purple shades.  I have a bunch of  purple shadows including a handful of purple cream shadows, but they all tend to be more of the brighter true to purple shades.  This plum shade is definitely a new one in my beauty arsenal.  Use it to put a new twist on a smoky eye. 

When you hear “Platinum” you (or at least I) tend to think of metallicy silver shades.  In Femme Metale, the Platinum shade leans more to the white side than to the silver side.  It has the metallic shimmer to it, but don’t expect this to be a silver shade.  It is a stunning highlighter, but is just as beautiful as lid color.

Taupe-aztic re-ignited a fondness for gold shadows in me.  Don’t be fooled by the word “taupe” in the name.  This is not a boring taupe-beige shade.  It is an exciting shade of gold that you will be happy to wear way past the holiday season.

Like the permanent line of Benefit Creaseless Cream Eyeshadows, all of the shadows in Femme Metale are extremely pigmented and long-lasting.  They also have buildability.  Apply with a light hand for a sheerer look or apply a few swipes for a bold steamy eye look.

Let’s move onto the eyeliners.  Oh my God, the eyeliners!  I LOVE THEM!!!  I am planning a letter writing campaign to Benefit, begging them to introduce a permanent collection of these liners.  Blinged, Gem-N-Eye, and Steel Her Date all have a shimmery metallic effect to them.  The glided on like butter and once they set they weren’t going anywhere.  Seriously, when I swatched these on my arm they were there all day.  Even after I purposely rubbed at them they didn’t budge at all.  If you are a fan of Urban Decay 24/7 liners you will be just as smitten with these. I love them, love them, love them.

Let me just tell you, I was singing the praises of Femme Metale when it was priced at $38.  I told everyone I knew and anyone who complimented my look when I wore Femme Metale that they needed to get their hands on this kit.  Now that Sephora has put this kit on sale for $28, I am at a loss for words.  Seriously, if you haven’t picked up Femme Metale yet, surf on over to Sephora and pick it up immediately.  The value on this quality kit is mind-blowing!

Did you pick up Femme Metale?  Love it?  Hate it?  Let us know!

In The Sun

Out Of The Sun

One Response to “Benefit Cosmetics Femme Metale”

  1. […] I posted my glowing review of the Benefit Femme Metale kit.  I just wanted to give everyone a quick update.  Let me just tell you, I have been fighting a […]

Leave a Reply

 
