AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Budget Beauty Monday – Carmex Lime Twist

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on December 27, 2010

It’s Monday…time for Budget Beauty Monday!!! Let’s face it. After the weekend we usually end up feeling like we ate too much, drank too much, spent too much, and didn’t do enough around the house. So I figure Monday on AnotherBeautyBlog.com should feature budget beauty products that won’t break the bank so you won’t feel bad about wanting to run out and get them.

If you’re anything like me, you probably have at least 10 different tubes of lip balm scattered about your purse, desk, car, night stand, etc.  Especially during the cold, windy Chicago winters, lip balm is an absolute beauty staple for me.  A few weeks ago I picked up the limited edition Carmex Lime Twist lip balm while I was at Walgreens.  Truthfully, I’m not a huge fan of the original Carmex.  Don’t get me wrong, it works and is very moisturizing, but I can’t get past that Carmex taste.  But when I saw that Carmex was releasing 2 new limited edition flavors (Vanilla is the other one), I figured I would give it a try.

Just like the original Carmex, Carmex Lime Twist promises to soothe, heal, and protect.  It also comes with a dose of SPF 15 for even more protection.  So what did I think?

It’s no surprise that Carmex Lime Twist was just as effective on my lips as the original Carmex is.  It definitely kept my lips hydrated and soothed my dry lips.  I put it on just before I went out to shovel my driveway and my lips weren’t bothered by the cold and wind at all.  It also gave me that Carmex tingle on my lips.  I personally love the tingle from medicated balms, plumping lip glosses, etc.  That’s the good.

And then there’s the bad…at least for me.  While there is a taste of lime in the Carmex Lime Twist, I still got a strong taste of that original Carmex flavor.  Again, that’s a bit of a negative for me, but I know that there are tons and tons of Carmex fans out there that love that flavor.  If you fall into that group, this won’t be a problem for you.

Overall, I liked the Carmex Lime Twist and would use it again.  Since it does such a great job at soothing, healing, and protecting, I’m willing to overlook the Carmex flavor.  Carmex fans are definitely going to want to pick this as well as the Vanilla Carmex up.

Both the Carmex Lime Twist and Carmex Vanilla are limited edition flavors that are available exclusively at Walgreens.  I found mine on the beauty counter, not by the normal lip balm section in the pharmacy.

Are you a Carmex girl/guy?  Have you tried either the Lime Twist or Vanilla limited edition flavors?  What did you think?

2 Responses to “Budget Beauty Monday – Carmex Lime Twist”

  1. Shirley Darby said

    Love the Lime Twist Carmex. I look for lip products with some SPF, and with little or no petrolatum. This fills the bill, and has a nice flavor to boot. I hope they keep making it. A good SPF lip balm without petrolatum is hard to find.

Leave a Reply

 
