AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Stila Adventurous In Aspen Travel Girl Palette

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on December 29, 2010

I’m finally getting around to a review for the latest Stila Travel Girl Palette – Adventurous In Aspen.  If you recall, Adventurous In Aspen features four eye shadows in Snow Angel (shimmering heather gray), Icicles (blue), Glisten (shimmering gold), and Ajax (black with gold sparkle) and a Convertible Color in Rosy (rose-pink).  The colors looked stunning online, but how did they do in person?

I have to admit, at first I wasn’t as blown away with these colors as I thought I would be once I got them.  But after playing with them for a while I am actually quite smitten.  With the exception of Snow Angel, the eye shadows are darker shades.  But with a light hand, you can apply them so they appear to be more sheer.  I will say that even though they are darker colors, they are very buildable.  Snow Angel has the most shimmer, but the Glisten and Ajax shades have a very nice shimmer as well.  The Icicles shade is the most matte of the group.  It does come off a little chalkier than the other shades.

In The Sun

I know the point of these palettes is to use the colors together to create a complete look.  But I have been using the darker shades of shadow from this palette with similar lighter shades from other palettes, kits, singles, etc. that I already had.  The pairings have created some very pretty smoky eyes.

As for the Convertible Color, I have to say I was a little disappointed with this one.  Usually I’m a huge fan of Stila Convertible Colors, but this one left a lot to be desired.  First, this CC seemed more oily than others.  I don’t know if you can see it, but if you look at the first picture you can see what looks like condensation on the CC.  When I first tried to swatch the colors the CC color did not appear.  The only thing that was left on my hand was a clear oily residue.  But after a few tries, the Rosy color did start to appear.  It’s almost like I had to get through the oily layer or something.

Out Of The Sun

As for the color itself, the Rosy shade is rather subtle.  It’s nice because you can give your cheeks a fresh and natural glow with one swipe.  Keep applying the buildable CC for a more prominent pink glow.  I think Stila did a good job in pairing a subtle, natural pink with the darker eye colors.

Overall, I was really pleased with the Stila Adventurous In Aspen Travel Palette.  Like the other Travel Girl Palettes, these aren’t top of the line shadows, but they colors are gorgeous and you can create a ton of looks, especially if you think outside the palette and use other items you already have in your beauty stock pile. For $10 I think this is a must have.

Have you picked up the Stila Adventurous In Aspen Travel Girl Palette yet?  Do you plan on picking it up?  What do you think of it?

Leave a Reply

 
