AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

QVC Today’s Special Value – Josie Maran Argan Oil 5-Piece Color Collection

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on January 3, 2011

The QVC Today’s Special Value for today, January 3rd 2010, is the Josie Maran Argan Oil 5-Piece Color Collection. For weeks I had been waiting for this Today’s Special Value.  QVC was a little more tight-lipped about this TSV than they have been about others in the past.  I knew what the Josie Maran TSV was going to be, but the final price was not made available nor was the option for pre-ordering weeks in advance.  Now that the day is finally here, I’m a tad bit disappointed.

First, let’s look at what is included in this kit.  You get a 1.7 fl oz organic argan oil with dropper, a 1.7 oz tinted moisturizer with SPF 30, a 0.19 oz full-coverage concealer, a 0.55 oz dual-purpose color stick in Pink Peony–shade exclusive to QVC until 1/3/2012, and a 0.12 fl oz Natural Volume lip gloss with brush applicator in Pink Peony–shade exclusive to QVC until 1/3/2012. The color choices for concealer/moisturizer are Fair (Creme); Light (Butter); Medium (Linen); or Tan (Desert)–shades exclusive to QVC until 4/15/2011.  (Note – I don’t know why the QVC website states that these colors are exclusive to QVC until April because I see that these shades are available at both Sephora and JosieMaranCosmetics.com)

Okay, so my biggest gripe about this Today’s Special Value doesn’t even have anything to do with the products themselves.  It has to do with the price and the lack of easy pay!  Seriously, QVC, how can this TSV not have at least 2 Easy Pays?  $70 in one payment seems pretty high to me, especially if you have other QVC beauty TSVs on auto-delivery that will be shipping and billing soon.  And then the price.  This Josie Maran TSV is Today’s Special Value priced at $58.34 (regular QVC price is $70 and retail value is $128).  Add in the $6.22 for shipping and then tax (for my area it’s probably between $5-$6) and your total for this TSV is around $70, with no Easy Pay!

Now, let’s get to the products.  I picked up the Josie Maran Love Nest kit from Sephora during the Friends & Family Sale.  Thru that kit I was able to try the Argan Oil and the Color Stick.  Loved them both.  But a little goes a long way with both of these products and as such I’m not in a dire need to pick up any more of either of these products for a while.

Who doesn’t love a tinted moisturizer.  For those days when you want to look semi-pulled together but don’t want to do a full beauty routine a tinted moisturizer is perfect.  I have played around with Josie’s Tinted Moisturizer in the past at Sephora.  First of all, these colors run dark.  I am usually a “medium” when it comes to most face products from most cosmetics companies.  Josie’s medium (shade name “Linen”) was too dark for me.  The light shade (“Butter”) was better, but it seemed just a tad too light for me.  I am concerned that these shade problem will also be problematic with regards to the concealer since the concealer comes in the same shades.

Also, with regards to the Tinted Moisturizer, I thought it felt a little thick and heavy.  Usually when you use tinted moisturizer you’re looking for something light and refreshing.  For me, this was just a little too thick.  Now, if the Tinted Moisturizer was available in an amazing shade for my skintone, I would totally be able to overlook the thickness of this formula.

One of the things that I do love about this Tinted Moisturizer is the fact that it contains 30 SPF sunscreen.  It amazes me how so many cosmetics either do not contain any SPF or contain minimal amounts.  I can only hope that Joise and her cosmetics team play around with this Tinted Moisturizer and perhaps offer more shades so that I can find one that is more appropriate for my skintone.

Shockingly, I have never tried a Josie Maran lip gloss.  I know, crazyness!  I have heard mixed reviews from a number of people.  Some claim it’s the greatest natural gloss they have tried.  Others say that the staying power in minimal.  I’ve heard a number of complaints about the applicators.  Some claim that the brush feathers out too much and goes outside of their lips.  Others say that the brush tip is too short and they are constantly scraping their lips with the plastic wand.

Overall, my concern is that I would want to return this kit because I don’t think the concealer is too promising for me and I just don’t need any more Argan Oil or Color Stick at the moment.  I’m trying to be good this new year and realize that I don’t need to hoard beauty products just because they are on sale.  I’m confident enough that Josie Maran Cosmetics will be on sale again in the future.  Hopefully right around the time that I need to replenish my Argan Oil.  But a note to QVC, had this TSV been featured on Easy Pay, I may have been persuaded to pick it up!

The Josie Maran Argan Oil 5-Piece Color Collection is available for $58.34 today only, while supplies last. Just a heads up, the Fair shade has already sold out. Light, Medium, and Tan are still available.

Are you a fan of Josie Maran Cosmetics?  Will you be picking up the Today’s Special Value?

2 Responses to “QVC Today’s Special Value – Josie Maran Argan Oil 5-Piece Color Collection”

  1. mini said

    hey! im a big fan of jms products
    im so sad i missed this special value
    i found your blog post because i was searching for the price
    i totally missed out!
    the reason qvc posted ‘colors exculsive to qvc’ is because the lip gloss and color stick shades are only offered at qvc.com right now

    • Hey Mini!

      Thanks for the explanation on the exclusive colors. Don’t be too sad. I’ve heard from a lot of people that they were disappointed they missed out on the TSV. QVC brought in such a low amount of TSV kits that they sold out super fast. I was actually surprised by that, especially considering the fact that most of her products are customer picks and have a big following. Hopefully, as a result of how well this kit sold, they will bring another Josie Maran TSV soon! It would be even better if it was right around the time I will need more argan oil and a new color stick!

Leave a Reply

 
