AnotherBeautyBlog.com

Just Another Beauty Blog

Budget Beauty Monday – Wet N Wild 8 Pan Palettes Swatches And Review

Posted by anotherbeautyblogger on February 7, 2011

It’s Monday…time for Budget Beauty Monday!!! Let’s face it. After the weekend we usually end up feeling like we ate too much, drank too much, spent too much, and didn’t do enough around the house. So I figure Monday on AnotherBeautyBlog.com should feature budget beauty products that won’t break the bank so you won’t feel bad about wanting to run out and get them.

Can you believe that I haven’t used my car since last Monday?  Ever since the blizzard hit Chicago last week I have not been out.  Let me just tell you, a Mustang in snow and ice slides like a hockey puck in an ice rink.  Today, the streets were finally cleaned up enough that I could venture out into the world and continue my quest for the Wet N Wild 8 Pan Palettes.  I’m happy to report that I finally found them at Walgreens!

There are 3 versions of the new Wet N Wild 8 Pan Palettes.  736 Petal Pusher features a variety of purple and violet shades.  737 Blue Had Me At Hello features a wide range of blue shades including teal, navy, and sky.  738 Comfort Zone features neutral brown shades as well as a green shade.

All of these palettes feature the high quality eye shadows that we have come to expect and love from Wet N Wild.  They are highly pigmented and long-lasting.  They feel extremely creamy when being applied.  None of this is new.  If you loved the Wet N Wild Coloricon Shadow Trios or the Limited Edition Holiday Pixie Palettes or any of the Wet N Wild eye shadows, you will love these too.

Most of the shadows in all of these palettes have either some sort of shimmer or metallic finish to them.  In my opinion, one of the “definer” shadows in the Blue Had Me At Hello palette is the only true matte of the bunch.  I personally prefer the shimmer and metallic shadows so this is good news for me.  But if you are a fan of the 6 pan palettes that featured 3 shimmer shadows and 3 mattes, you will not find that here.

As soon as I saw 736 Petal Pusher, I immediately thought of the 2010 Wet N Wild Limited Edition Holiday Pixie Palette Sugar Plum Fairy.  Although it’s not exactly the same, it’s a great option to pick up if you missed out on the Holiday Palettes.  This is a great palette to pick up for the Spring as it features a number of purples, violets, and plums…some of the hot shades for the upcoming season.

736 Petal Pusher In Sunlight

736 Petal Pusher Out Of Sunlight

736 Petal Pusher Swatches In Sunlight

736 Petal Pusher Swatches Out Of Sunlight

If you’re a fan of color, 737 Blue Had Me At Hello will probably jump out at you.  There is a gorgeous bright teal shade that you will want to play with.  So many people are afraid of blue shadows for fear of looking like they stepped out of a 1980s time machine.  Get over it, people!  Blue can be done in a tasteful way.  It’s more than possible to create an elegant look with this palette due to complimenting shades in this palette.  Just use a light hand if you’re worried about getting carried away!

737 Blue Had Me At Hello In The Sunlight

737 Blue Had Me At Hello Out Of The Sunlight

737 Blue Had Me At Hello Swatches In The Sunlight

737 Blue Had Me At Hello Swatches Out Of The Sunlight

Of the 3, I think 738 Comfort Zone will probably be the most popular due to the neutrality of the palette.  It features a range of beiges and browns as well as a coppery-red shade, a peachy shade, and an olive green shade.  I had to go to 3 Walgreens to find this palette, so I think that’s an indication of which palette people are picking up.  You’ll definitely be able to use this palette for a demure office day look, but it also has the ability to transform that look into a fun night out look.  At the moment, Comfort Zone is my favorite of the 3 palettes.

738 Comfort Zone In The Sunlight

738 Comfort Zone Out Of The Sunlight

738 Comfort Zone Swatches In The Sunlight

738 Comfort Zone Swatches Out Of The Sunlight

If you’re still upset that you missed out on the 2010 Limited Edition Holiday Pixie Palettes, dry your eyes.  These new Wet N Wild 8 Pan Palettes are great substitutes.  And since these are NOT limited edition, you won’t have to worry about fighting with other beauty addicts to get yours!

Just a note, I talked to one of the beauty girls at Walgreens and she said that they had only received 2 of each palette in the initial shipment.  So if you’re having problems finding all of the palettes at one store, just keep checking.  They will be getting more in.  The first 2 Walgreens I went to this morning only had 1 each of the Petal Pusher and Blue Had Me At Hello palettes.  The third Walgreens had 2 of the Blue Had Me At Hello palette and 1 each of the Petal Pusher and Comfort Zone palettes.

The new Wet N Wild 8 Pan Palettes are priced at $4.99 each.  At the moment, they are only available at Walgreens and Wal-mart.  They are NOT limited edition products.  I know there has been some debate as to whether or not they were, but they are NOT.

And now, for my usual disclaimer.  Again, I am so sorry for the iPhone pictures.  My photo software for my new computer is supposed to be delivered this week.  I cannot wait to use a real camera for taking swatch pictures again!

Have you found the new Wet N Wild 8 Pan Palettes yet?  Which is your favorite?

4 Responses to “Budget Beauty Monday – Wet N Wild 8 Pan Palettes Swatches And Review”

  1. Jennifer said

    these are gorgeous! I wish I can get my hands on them in Asia 😦

  2. Nikki said

    I picked up Blue Had me at Hello (yes, because of that Teal!) and Petal Pusher… just because I’ve always been afraid to play with color on my eyes… I’ve always been a neutral kinda girl. I’m surprised that the Blue pallete… is actually wearable! I was so afraid it would make me look 1980’s crazy. But no… it’s really pretty! But I do want Comfort Zone also. I don’t know WHY I didn’t pick up all 3. LOL

Leave a Reply

 
